Comfort Food by Kate Jacobs

June 29, 2008 at 8:47 am (Book Reviews, Read-a-thon)

This will probably be the last book that I finish during the read-a-thon. I’ve got another one I’m working on, but won’t complete before I stumble to my bedroom for some hard-earned nap time.

I have to say that I REALLY enjoyed Comfort Food. The book is all about a TV chef named Gus (short for Augusta). Gus’s ratings are falling, so the Cooking Channel decides to boost her ratings by bringing in Carmen Vega (former Miss Spain). Gus is quite upset about having to share her show with Carmen. Carmen thinks she, also, should have her own show. The two become QUITE competitive.

Gus’s daughters become involved in the show, as does her neighbor, an ex-professional tennis star name Hannah. She also has Oliver, her new culinary producer, to deal with.

This was a good read. I’m glad I saved it until the end of the night because it really doesn’t require a lot of thought, but isn’t your typical “brainless” read.

3 Comments

  1. bkclubcare said,

    congrats on so many books completed, congrats on the thoughtful reviews, congrats for STAYING AWAKE throughout, and how ever many pages you completed, too.

    APPLAUSE APPLAUSE!

  2. Nymeth said,

    I’m glad you enjoyed the book 🙂 And congratulations! I really admire those of you who stayed awake the whole time!

  3. 2008 Reading List (for 100 book challenge) « This Redhead Reads said,

    […] Comfort Food by Kate Jacobs (9/10) […]

Leave a Reply

