The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen

June 28, 2008 at 10:14 pm (Book Reviews, Read-a-thon)

I just finished reading The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen. I really enjoyed the book – a lot more than I thought I would! Well, no – this is hard to explain – I decide I want to read a book, but then when I get it in my hands, suddenly the idea of that particular book is appalling. So, I’ve learned that I can’t trust myself with that. For the most part, I make myself read at least 10 pages before deciding that I don’t want to read the book.

One day, Josey Cirrini (who is 27 and lives at home with her mother, obeying her every whim) finds Della Lee, a woman she hardly knows, in her closet. Della Lee refuses to leave. She even sends Josey out to get her a grilled cheese and tomato sandwich from a shop where a woman named Chloe works. Chloe has books just randomly show up around her. For instance, she has recently broken up with her boyfriend (he cheated on her) and she keeps finding a book called “Finding Forgiveness” in various places – on the arm of her couch, on the counter at work.

The lives of these three women are interconnected in ways nobody can imagine. To tell any more, would spoil it. But this is definitely a good book.

3 Comments

  1. Darcie said,

    I am enjoying it too!! ๐Ÿ™‚ It has made me laugh out loud in many parts!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. bkclubcare said,

    yes, on my tbr. congrats on the 50 books. and right at the end of six months, too. it’s like you PLANNED it or something.

  3. 2008 Reading List (for 100 book challenge) « This Redhead Reads said,

    […] The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen (8/10) […]

Leave a Reply

