Read-a-thon Mini-Challenge: Hour 1

June 28, 2008 at 10:15 am (Read-a-thon)

It’s time for Read-a-thon Mini-Challenge: Hour 1. I actually don’t know that I posted on here that I was, in fact, going to do the challenge… but I am. And, like a dork, I forgot to sign up on Mr. Linky, so hopefully, I still get included!

This is an introduction meme.

Where are you reading from today? Today, I’m reading from my apartment in Seattle, WA. I was hoping for nice, cool Seattle weather. Hopefully around fifty. No dice. It’s seventy-one degrees already. I might perish before the day is over.

Three facts about me:

Since I’m thinking about it, I hate the heat. I hate summer. It makes me cranky.

I’m gluten intolerant. I’m not supposed to have wheat, rye, or barley. If I do, I get stomach problems (gas and “distress”), my skin itches, and I usually get very warm. There are other symptoms, but those are pretty immediate. This makes eating out somewhat difficult. Even when I find foods that are “safe”, if the people preparing my food make it on a counter that had food with gluten on it, I get sick. If they don’t wash their hands in between or if they don’t change gloves, I get sick. People think it’s ok because I won’t die from it, but it’s not – I feel horrible for three days afterward. If I’m out and about and get hungry, my selections are pretty limited. Having gluten-intolerance puts me at risk for a few types of cancers. It puts me at risk for a lot of things, actually. And it makes me feel like a pariah. Nobody wants to have me over to have dinner, for fear they’ll make me sick or accidentally make something I can’t have. If they ask me over for dinner – and don’t already know my health problem – I feel bad because most people won’t rescind the offer, even if they want to. Waiters at restaurants think I’m whiney. It just sucks, frankly. If you want to know more about this disorder, please ask.

I work as a reservation agent for a cruise line.

Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon? Well, I did have a number of comment goals, but I might not do that now – somebody convinced me to update to Firefox 3.0 and it has slowed down my web access considerably. *glares at person in question* So, no, I suppose I have no goals. That may change.

Any advice for people doing this for the first time? I’ve done a read-a-thon before, with a few friends, and I’d say that being willing to take a break before your brain mushes is important. Maybe ten minutes here or there. Go get some caffeine. Have something tasty. If this becomes not fun, STOP. Even if you need to take an hour or two away and come back to this, IMHO, that’s fine. (I don’t know what the organizers think though.)

4 Comments

  1. alisonwonderland said,

    welcome to the read-a-thon! i think you’ve got good advice – and Dewey agrees that it’s supposed to be fun!

    we’re going to be visiting Seattle on vacation next month. 71 sounds pretty good when it’s 90 here! 🙂

  2. Shawnee said,

    I just had to stop by “This Redhead Reads” from one redhead to another! You have a very pretty blog. What are you planning to read? I love to hear about and get ideas for good books.

  3. twiga92 said,

    That’s quite interesting about the gluten. My mom has Celiac’s which basically means that she can’t have anything with gluten. She can’t even use the same spoon that stirred the regular spaghetti noodles and use it on her own gluten-free noodles or she gets sick. It’s hereditary so it’s quite possible I may end up with it someday as well.
    Finished my first book and am off for more reading. Happy Read-a-thon!

  4. Trish said,

    I JUST signed up this morning–always late! Hope your reading is going well.

Leave a Reply

