Before Green Gables by Budge Wilson

June 28, 2008 at 4:12 pm (Book Reviews, Read-a-thon)

I just finished reading Before Green Gables by Budge Wilson. It’s my first completed book for the read-a-thon… it took me a bit long to read it because I kept having computer problems – so it took a lot of time to move back and forth between sites for the challenges and such. Luckily, my husband fixed them for me!

I’ve always loved Anne. Did you know… my middle name is Anne? Even now, when I tell people my middle name, I think “with an e”. One the phone, if somebody tells me that their name is Anne, I always ask “With an E?” It helps that I have red hair and am somewhat feisty like Anne (or, at least, I was as a kid).

This is the backstory to Anne. It was so nice to read what happened to Anne before she became “of Green Gables”. The story is fantastic and heartbreaking. (Yes, yes, yes…. I cried.) In some ways, I like stories where you know the end. Most people who read this book KNOW where she’s going. They even know, vaguely, how she got there. The journey along the way is what makes this book so wonderful. A perfect addition to Anne’s story.

5 Comments

  1. Laura said,

    I loved the Anne books, so I will have to check this one out! I always ask if people named “Anne” spell it with an e as well. Of course, I think it looks so much nicer with an “e” 🙂 Good job finishing an entire book already!

  2. Trish said,

    I love Anne also. Congrats on finishing your first book! I’ve had to abandon some of the heavier ones for this read-a-thon (I was reading Tess of the D’Urbervilles).

  3. Maree said,

    I’ve never read the Anne books and I know I’m missing out!

  4. 2008 Reading List (for 100 book challenge) « This Redhead Reads said,

    […] Before Green Gables by Budge Wilson (9/10) […]

  5. Darcie said,

    Sounds great!! I think it is so neat when other authors pick up a book and recycle the characters!! It’s fun to have a different perspective!

Leave a Reply

