BTT: Definition of a "Reader"

June 26, 2008 at 4:39 am (Booking Through Thursday)

What, in your opinion, is the definition of a “reader.” A person who indiscriminately reads everything in sight? A person who reads BOOKS? A person who reads, period, no matter what it is?  … Or, more specific? Like the specific person who’s reading something you wrote?

My definition of a reader has changed over the past couple of years, in part due to my husband. You see, Jeremy rarely reads books. But, he reads all the time – mostly articles on the internet. It wouldn’t be fair to consider him a non-reader in the same way that I wouldn’t consider somebody who reads a lot of magazines but few books a non-readers.

Personally, I think that if you read magazines, articles, or books on a regular basis, you’re a reader. If all you read is, say, the cereal box every morning, you’re probably a non-reader.

5 Comments

  1. thekoolaidmom said,

    Interesting answer… I think we just generally think a reader reads books, forgetting about magazines, internet articles, e-books and graphic novels.

  2. Sally said,

    Hmm. What if you CAN read but choose not to read that cereal box?

  3. Barbara H. said,

    My oldest son is exactly like your husband. I agree that it’s reading for pleasure that defines a reader, but I don’t think only someone who reads books is a reader. I used to lament that my boys weren’t readers because they rarely read books, until I realized my oldest reads much more than I do on the Internet. He is constantly sharing interesting tidbits he finds. That kind of reading gives him pleasure: he’s not so much into stories.

  4. Nithin said,

    Anyone who loves to read is a reader. If your husband loves to read articles on the internet then he too can be called a reader.

  5. Chris@bookarama said,

    I’d read the cereal box too. (See my answer 😉 )

Leave a Reply

