Weekly Geeks #9: Challenges

June 25, 2008 at 8:35 pm (100 book challenge, Herding Cats, Reading challenges, Spring Reading Thing, Weekly Geeks)

I was planning on going through my list of reading challenges, see how I’m doing, update them, etc. even before I knew it was the Weekly Geeks challenge for this week. I notice that a lot of other people have said that, too. I think this is coming at a perfect time: June is almost over and that means that half of the year is almost gone (eek… where does the time go?). So, it makes sense to review these, no?

I haven’t been so good about doing updates on these. I’ll count this as an update for all of them, then start working on keeping more up-to-date with these.

Here are the challenges that I’m in right now:

The biggest challenge that I’m in is to read 100 books this year. I’m about to finish 48. I’ll have 50 read by the end of June, which makes me happy. Also, after reviewing the answers everyone gave when I asked “What counts?”, I’ll be expanding what I’m counting for that challenge. I’ll start including all the non-fiction that I read, as well. (Thanks for all the thoughts/suggestions on that one, btw. I posed that question on my blog and a few communities I’m in. It was helpful to get so many different perspectives, especially since a lot of them said much the same thing.)

The Herding Cats challenge is probably the one that I’m doing the most poorly on. I’ve only read one of the three books. I have until November 30th (my wedding anniversary, btw) so I’ve got enough time to get the other two in.

I read all of my books for the Spring Reading Thing 2008 – a lot more quickly than I’d thought, actually. Next time, I’ll have to try for more.

And, finally, we have Weekly Geeks. It’s not required that you participate every week, which is good. I was sick for a while there then got busy and didn’t really have time to do much. But I’m posting this week, aren’t I?

What does the future hold? I really enjoy these challenges, so I hope to join more.

2 Comments

  1. dew said,

    I like to think that my own future will hold FEWER challenges, because while I do ok keeping up with the reading, I’m terrible at keeping organized/updated. Hence the WG theme! 🙂

  2. Trish said,

    My classics challenge is starting in a week…nudge nudge… 🙂 I’m absolutely addicted to challenges, but also try to keep everything in perspective. 50 books in 6 months is fantastic–I wish I could but can’t…

Leave a Reply

