"Devil Who Tamed Her" by Johanna Lindsey

May 7, 2008 at 6:47 pm (Book Reviews) (, , )

I’m a bit of a book snob. Or, rather… I used to be. It used to be that certain fiction books were “worthwhile” to read, while others weren’t. I think that a lot of readers go through this sort of thing. Some people never move beyond it. Others, like me attempt to rationalize.

Earlier today, I was talking to my husband about this. Jeremy and I have talked about this several times, actually. Talking it out has helped me come to the conclusion that if I’m willing to watch a movie for a couple of hours, just for fun, and not feel bad about it, then I could most certainly do the same for a book.

Thusly, when I was bored one day at lunch (frankly, I would rather have a half hour lunch and be able to get off half an hour earlier, but that’s besides the point), I wandered over to Bartell’s (Bartell’s is a drugstore – I don’t know if they have them out of the area or not). I stopped in front of the book section and decided that I’d just get a book. Any book would do, because, after all, if it sucked, the book wasn’t much more than your average magazine anyway.

I ended up grabbing Devil Who Tamed Her by Johanna Lindsey. Ophelia Reid is very beautiful and has men flocking to her, even though she is spoiled and behaves like a brat. Raphael Locke is young man who bets his friend, Duncan MacTavish (who Ophelia was engaged to, but she wrecked the engagement… on purpose), that he can make Ophelia “change her ways”. To do this, Rafe basically kidnaps Ophelia. He then sends a letter to Ophelia’s father, letting her family know where she was and that she was safe. Ophelia’s father was thrilled, because he hoped that this meant Rafe – heir to a dukedom – would end up marrying Ophelia, even though he knows Ophelia would rather choose her husband for herself. During Rafe’s time with Ophelia, he helps her learn to deal with some of her anger and bad behaviors while learning some of the reasons behind them. When Ophelia returns home to London, everyone is surprised at her change in behavior. She receives several marriage proposals but turns them all down, though far more gently than she would have before. Has Ophelia really changed? And why is she still rejecting every suitor? You’d have to read the book to find out. Anything more will spoil the story.

While this book isn’t on my “everyone MUST read this book” list, it is on the “not a bad way to spend a couple of hours” list, which still isn’t a bad place to be.

If you have reviewed this book as well, please feel free to email me at thisredheadreads@gmail.com with the link to your review and I will add the link to this post.

5 Comments

  1. 2008 Reading List (for 100 book challenge) « This Redhead Reads said,

    […] Devil Who Tamed Her by Johanna Lindsey (6/10) […]

  2. J. Kaye said,

    I’m more of a trailer trash reader. 🙂 “Devil Who Tamed Her” wasn’t her best in my opinion. I had a heck of a time getting into it and gave up after the second attempt.

  3. thisredheadreads said,

    @J. Kaye – I’ve actually never read any of her books before. Or, at least, I don’t think so.

  4. Trish said,

    My good friend *loves* Johanna Lindsey, but romance has never been my cup of tea. Interesting rationalization! I give myself 50 pages to get into the book. If not, it gets reshelved–but I try to pick them back up eventually (I’m working on one right now that I’ve attempted several times). Ya, I watch a lot of crappy TV with hubby–sometimes I lie there on the couch thinking “I could be *something* reading right now.”

  5. net said,

    i love ms. lindsey’s novels, i just do, although idont get to read most of them… there’s something in it that makes you want to fall, too..

Leave a Reply

