Weekly Geeks #1, part 2. Or: A bit of a dunce…

April 29, 2008 at 5:45 pm (Weekly Geeks) (, , )

I was going on my merry way, blog surfing and such. I went back to my blog to look at something and stopped suddenly on the “Weekly Geeks #1” post. I counted… 1, 2, 3, 4… where’s number five?

I know what happened. A friend of mine has introduced me to a blogging tool that lets me save drafts locally before uploading, so that I can come back and work on them later. So, when I went to publish the weekly geeks post, I came back to the blogging tool – which, btw, I hadn’t actually closed down yet – saw my post still sitting there. Actually, what I saw was my post sitting there in and amongst a bunch of random letters (thanks to my kitties for trying to help!) so I thought to myself “Ok, self. No problem. Just pull up the saved draft and post it.” But I hadn’t saved after I’d listed my fifth blog for “Weekly Geeks”.

Unfortunately, I can’t remember who I’d picked out for the fifth pick. This isn’t because I don’t think they’re good – it is because I’ve been looking at a lot of blogs and have a short memory (at least on things regarding that). So, here’s the deal: if I went to your blog and said I’d feature you in my “Weekly Geeks” post but didn’t, please tell me. I will make you your own post.

I also decided that since it is entirely possible that person will never be found/won’t step forward, I’d pick another blog to “feature” – only this time, I’ll pick one that posted to Mr. Linky after me (the others, I believe were all before me on the list). So, without any more rambling on, here’s the fifth blog for my Weekly Geeks entry.

Book Nut – I enjoyed reading the many reviews on Melissa’s site. I can also completely appreciate her comment on the sidebar of the blog, stating “She hates wandering the the stacks of the library and/or the bookstore looking for something good to read and so thrives off of recommendations.” While I love bookstores and libraries, I get extremely frustrated because the back of the book/book cover can make even the worst book seem good. (This is part of the benefit of having a Paperspine membership – I get good book suggestions, put them in my que, and don’t even have to walk into a library or bookstore hoping that I’ll remember what I want or that they’ll have one of the books on my list.) Her blog looks like a great resource – I followed several links to interesting sites. Stop by and check her out.

3 Comments

  1. Weekly Geeks #1, part 2. Or: A bit of a dunce… said,

    […] Mandi Bierly wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptSo, when I went to publish the weekly geeks post, I came back to the blogging tool – which, btw, I hadn’t actually closed down yet – saw my post still sitting there. Actually, what I saw was my post sitting there in and amongst a bunch … […]

  2. bybee said,

    Hi Misa, I really like your blog…title, content…you name it! LOLed about you & Danielle Steel and the reading marathon. Aaron is my partner in crime re: books…I think we’re subconsciously in fear of a sudden book embargo!

  3. chartroose said,

    Hi Misa,

    Welcome! I like your blog too. You’ve gotten off to a great start.

    Here is my “blogwarming gift” to you — I’ve chosen you to participate in a meme. Go check it out at my site!

Leave a Reply

