342,745 Ways to Herd Cats – Ten Books That I LOVE

April 19, 2008 at 12:13 am (Herding Cats, Reading challenges)

Here’s my list of ten books that I love for the 342,745 Ways to Herd Cats challenge. We’re supposed to pick ten books we like a make a list. Then, we’re supposed to pick three books from other people’s “ten books I love” lists and read them between May 1, 2008 and November 30, 2008. The main challenge page is here. I don’t have posts about some of these yet, but will probably be adding them in the future.

1. The Giver by Lois Lowry. If you’d like to know a bit more about it, please read my post over here.

2. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle, which I’ve written about here.

3. The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron. Apparently, a lot of children’s libraries won’t carry this book, even though it won the 2007 Newberry Medal, because of the word “scrotum” appearing in the book. It does so only two or three times, in reference to a rattlesnake biting a dog. It isn’t offensive, IMHO. And, also, if you can’t let your children read a book that mentions a non-offensive term for a body part (which, btw, about half of all children have), then your child’s biggest problem probably has nothing to do with what he or she was reading. The story itself is wonderful. It’s a good “story”, not just a good book, if you know what I mean. Lucky is a 10-year-old girl who lives in a little town called Hard Pan (population 43) with her guardian, Brigette. Brigette became Lucky’s guardian after Lucky’s mother died two years ago and her father called Brigette (his first wife) to take come from France to take care of Lucky (his second wife’s daughter). Lucky believes that Brigette is unhappy, that she is planning on moving back to France, and leaving Lucky. So Lucky sets out to find her “Higher Power”, which she hears about when eavesdropping on 12-step meetings.

4. Area 51 (Book 1) by Robert Doherty. I’d actually suggest all of the series but I’m only listing this book. You can read my post about this book here.

5. Howl’s Moving Castle by Dianne Wynne Jones.

6. The Diamond Age: Or, A Young Lady’s Illustrated Primer by Neal Stephenson.

7. So Many Books, So Little Time: A Year of Passionate Reading by Sara Nelson.

8. Going With The Grain: A Wandering Bread Lover Takes a Bite Out of Life by Susan Seligson. I was going through school to become a bread maker/pastry chef but had to quit because I was getting sick all the time. Ha ha ha, Universe, thank you for “gifting” me with gluten intolerance.

9. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling. Actually, I loved the whole series, but this one was my favorite overall.

10. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis. I don’t care what anybody else says, this is the first book in the series. I love them all, though.

5 Comments

  1. Liviania said,

    10. It is the first book in the series. I prefer to read them in the order they were written, even if chronological does work.

  2. thisredheadreads said,

    I also prefer to read them in the order they were written.

  3. 342,745 Ways To Herd Cats said,

    […] Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling ? […]

  4. Rhinoa said,

    I am here via Weekly Geeks and am enjoying reading your blog. You have a few here that I want to read: A Wrinkle in Time, Howl’s Moving Castle and So Many Books, So Little Time: A Year of Passionate Reading. My favourite of the Narnia books is either The Magicians Nephew or The Silver Chair.

  5. The cats are herded! said,

    […] Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling (This Red Head Reads) […]

Leave a Reply

