Baby Proof

June 20, 2008 at 3:50 pm (Book Reviews, Weekly Geeks)

Remember the post about my decision to be child-free? Well, I actually got around to reading one of those books: Baby Proof by Emily Giffin. Bad news.

I HATED that book. The ending bothered me so much that I was disgusted.

Now, to be fair, some people have said “Well, the ending is kind of ambigious. You could take it the other way.” If you’re planning on reading this book and you don’t want it to be “spoiled”, click away now. Seriously. Are you gone?

Ok. On with this. The book is all about a happy child-free couple who becomes not-so-happy when one of them changes their mind (the husband, not the wife, btw). They break up. She goes out with another guy for a while, but she’s miserable. She misses her husband. Much goes on with the other characters in the book, but, in the end, she decides to do anything – even have a baby(!), if she needs to  – to get back together with him. Now, some say that she didn’t necessarily have the baby, because before she could tell her ex-husband about he said that he wanted to get back together with her.

I don’t care if she ACTUALLY had a baby. What makes me mad is that she was willing to give up so much of herself, to give up something she had taken a stand for, in order  to get back together with her husband. COME ON. Be strong. I don’t care if it’s children or your hobby or WHATEVER. If it’s really important to you, don’t give it up just because some guy wants you to. Husband or no.

Geez. I HATED that book.

(Edited to remove a little mini-rant that got waaay off topic.)

6 Comments

  1. Mrs S | Blue Archipelago said,

    I read Something Borrowed and couldn’t get my head around the fact it seemed to be ok to cheat. This Baby book sounds even worse!

    I have Something Blue on my TBR and I’m tempted to give it away instead of reading it!

  2. Trish said,

    I’ve had no desire to read any of these books–thanks for the confirmation of my desire.

  3. Stephanie said,

    I’m half-way through Baby Proof and don’t care for it at all. Now I don’t have to finish it since I know what happens! THANKS!

  4. Natasha @ Maw Books said,

    I love honest reviews! Much, much appreciated. Keep it up.

  5. 2008 Reading List (for 100 book challenge) « This Redhead Reads said,

    […] Baby Proof by Emily Giffin (5/10) […]

  6. Six word review of Baby Proof « The Written Word said,

    […] I am in the minority, because I could only find one other book blogger who had the same feelings as I did about Baby Proof. Even though I didn’t care for it, I […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

